Members of the Advisory Board

Professor Dr. Luise Schorn-Schütte

Goethe University Frankfurt



Luise Schorn-Schütte is Professor of General Modern History with a special focus on the Early Modern Period at the Goethe University Frankfurt. Her research concentrations include the history of political communication in Europe in the early modern age, the theory of historical science and the history of science in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Professor Dr. Karlheinz Altendorf

University of Osnabrück


Karlheinz Altendorf was Professor of Microbiology at the University of Osnabrück from 1980 until 2009 and from 2009 to 2012 had a “Niedersachsenprofessur”. He researches the structure and function of ATP synthase, potassium transport, regulatory processes in bacteria and microbial ecology.

Professor Dr. Hans-Joachim Freund

Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society, Berlin


Hans-Joachim Freund was appointed as a Scientific Member and Director of the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society in Berlin in 1996, where he has led the department “Chemical Physics” since then. He looks at the physics and chemistry of solid surfaces, the structure and dynamics of oxide surfaces, model systems for heterogeneous catalysis, and nanostructures and clusters.

Professor Dr. Thomas Gutmann

Wilhelms University Münster

Vice Chair


Thomas Gutman is Director of the Institute for Legal Philosophical Research at the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster. He focuses on the areas of legal theory and philosophy, basic questions of medical law, medical ethics and biopolitics, the theory of private law, law and social theory and inheritance law.

Professor em. Dr. Philipp U. Heitz

 Au / Switzerland


Philipp U. Heitz works in Basel, London, and Zurich on the biology of human endocrine diseases, in particular with neuroendocrine tumours of the pancreas, gastrointestinal tract, lungs and thyroid as well as with the pathology of multiple endocrine neoplasia, types 1 and 2 (MEN 1 and 2). Philipp U. Heitz was the Director of the Institute of Pathology at the University of Basel for five years and the Director of the Department of Pathology at the University of Zurich for 17 years. He developed this department into a recognized centre for research and teaching.

Professor Dr. Sabine Müller

University of Greifswald


Sabine Müller holds the Chair for Bioorganic Chemistry at the University of Greifswald. Her research interests lie in the chemistry and biochemistry of nucleic acids.

Professor Dr. Werner Raub

Utrecht University


Werner Raub is Professor of Sociology in the Department of Sociology at Utrecht University, Netherlands and at the Interuniversity Center for Social Science Theory and Methodology (ICS) at the Universities of Groningen, Utrecht and Nijmegen, Netherlands. His research fields include theoretical sociology and organisational studies as well as business sociology and sociology of the family. The primary aim of his work is to systematically integrate theoretical models and empirical research in sociology.

Professor Dr. Eckhard Schumacher

University of Greifswald


Eckhard Schumacher is Professor of Modern German Literature and Literature Theory and Director of the Wolfgang Koeppen Archive at the University of Greifswald. He focuses on the areas of literature and media theory, romanticism, contemporary literature and pop.

Professor Dr. Alexandra Spitz-Oener

Humboldt University of Berlin


Alexandra Spitz-Oener is Professor of Applied Microeconomics at Humboldt University in Berlin, with a focus on labour market research. In her research, she deals with the challenges for the German labour market resulting from technological change and the consequences of globalisation.


-> Board of Trustees

-> Board of Directors